ECG chronicles

The black outs are normal now,we even follow a schedule. ECG is the unifying factor in Ghana now; When the lights go off, both the poor and rich shout OOOO, when they come back on, both the young and old shout YEAH!! ECG is that childhood bully who took your lunch money and in case you were never bullied, ECG is that hungry macho man who crosses you in the waakye queue and buys for his whole family (before I go on, let me share this, never complain when a macho man crosses you in a waakye queue, 2 things not to joke with, a hungry man and a macho man. I have done my part).

Back to ECG, We play the blame game when the lights go off;the president this, the president that. We forget he has appointed people to work and ensure we have lights, yes, the president isn’t the ECG boss(surprised?). One morning, I received a message from my friend, a first class graduate from business school who said, “Let’s go and be sweepers at ECG” O_0 then she mentioned how much a clerk there earned: GHC 2100, they earn 21 million old Ghana cedis (I almost sent my CV there) so you can imagine how much a boss there is earning, meaning they are being paid well, yet… Our lights aren’t assured. Have I talked about how they are planning to increase our bills by 200% ? When its the big companies who most of the time don’t pay their bills?

The blame game isn’t working, let’s try another method. Have we considered another source of electricity apart from the one we have? We always complain every time the lights go off ( Don’t you get tired?) We have so much sunlight and it scorches more nowadays (maybe God is bringing it to our attention), people have started selling solar panels but apart from solar, what else? There are a lot of things around we could convert to electricity. We should start thinking about different and cheaper ways to generate electricity (I hate generators because of the noise,and cost of fuel). I think that would be more beneficial. When I get one, I would just call ECG and tell them to come for their cables. Till then, let’s remain innovative, a solution is always close by.

ECG can’t put the lights off at the end of your tunnel,
ME.

2 comments

  1. tdzifa · July 5, 2013

    Great thoughts

  2. @AbbanBudu · July 5, 2013

    technocrats have been on tv/radio presenting reports and ideas on alternative power generation. one requires waste ( which we generate more than anything ) as an input. I think our leaders have plucked timbers into their ears, and blurred their vision with “ewiase y3 soom”. They know what paaa, but they just won’t do.

Leave a comment